BJP-led government takes office in Tripura

Agartala (Tripura), March 09, 2018 (TMC Desk) A BJP-led government headed by Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb on Friday assumed office along with its ally IPFT, after 25 years of Left rule.

Governor Tathagata Roy administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 48-year-old Deb, followed by Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Barman, Narendra Chandra Debbarma of the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura, Ratan Lal Nath, Sudip Roy Barman, Pranjit Singha Roy, Manoj Kanti Deb, Mevar Kumar Jamatia (IPFT) and Santana Chakma.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, former Deputy Prime Minister L.K. Advani, former union minister Murli Manohar Joshi and Chief Ministers of Bharatiya Janata Party-ruled states attended the ceremony at the Assam Rifles ground here.

Liked it? Take a second to support The TMC Desk on Patreon!