Telangana Assembly session commences; CM and other MLAs of the house take oath

Oath taking ceremony in Telangana Assembly
Oath taking ceremony in Telangana Assembly
Hyderabad (Telangana): The first session of the second assembly of Telangana state was held in the city on Thursday. The pro tem speaker of the house Mumtaz Ahmed Khan administered oath to all the newly elected MLAs of the house. Out of the 119 MLAs, a total of 114 MLA took oath on the occasion. The administration of the oath began with the chief minister of the state K. Chandrasekhar Rao. Later, six elected woman MLAs of the house took the oath. Three MLAs from ruling TRS and opposition Congress party have been elected to the house in the recent assembly elections.
The present assembly has several special features. As many as 76 MLAs of the first assembly of the state were re-elected  to the present house for the second consecutive term. It also has 23 MLAs, who have been elected for the first time to the house. The chief minister of the state and the leader of the house K. Chandrasekhar Rao is the senior most MLA Of the Assembly. He was elected to the house for 8 times. Rao is followed by other senior MLAs like Errabelli Dayakar Rao, Redya Naik and Protem Mumtaz Ahmed Khan.
The ruling TRS party MLAs like T. Harish Rao. Etala Rajender and Koppula Eeshwar were elected to the house for six consecutive times. Congress Party MLA from Kothagudem Assembly segment Vanama Venkateswar Rao has created the record by being the oldest MLA of the house. The record for the youngest MLA of the house also went to opposition Congress Party. The party’s woman  MLA from Yellandu Haripriya Naik was elected to the house for the first time at the age of 29 years.
If we look at the party wise strength, the the ruling TRS party has 88 MLAs , the main opposition congress path has 19 MLAs , MIM party has 7 MLAs, TDP has 2 MLAs, the BJP and RPI have one MLA each  in the house besides an independent MLA.   Two sitting MPs of ruling TRS party like Balka Suman and Ch Malla Reddy contested the assembly elections and won from chennur and Medchal Assembly segments. They later resigned from their MP posts.  Similarly, two MLCs of ruling TRS and opposition congress party were also elected to the present house. Their names are K. Rajagopal Reddy and P. Mahender Reddy. The two have been elected from Munugodu and kodangal Assembly segments respectively.
On the other hand, the ruling TRS party MLA Pocharam Srinivas Reddy has filed his nomination papers for the post of the speaker of the house. He is likely to be elected to the house unanimously as the chief minister has already urged the leaders of all opposition political parties like Congress, BJP and TDP and urged them to extend their support to the party candidate fielded for the post of the speaker. The CM spoke to the opposition party leaders on Wednesday. The election of the speaker will be done on Friday.
Liked it? Take a second to support The TMC Desk on Patreon!